Lippincott Procedures

 

Lippincott Clinical Expert Groups

When procedures are reviewed for the New Zealand context we utilise the skills and expertise of our Clinical Expert Groups.  Not all of these groups are currently active but we do have contacts from across the areas that use the New Zealand Instance. The two groups with an asterisk (*) are planned but membership is not yet confirmed.  If you would like to know more about these please contact us at lippincott@siapo.heatlh.nz

  • Blood
  • Diabetes
  • ENT
  • Infection Prevention & Control
  • IV
  • Long term care*
  • Maternity
  • Neonatal
  • Oncology
  • Paediatrics
  • Pain management
  • Palliative Care
  • Mental Health
  • Renal Dialysis*
  • Respiratory
  • Resus
  • Theatre
  • Urology
  • Wound Care

 

Lippincott New Zealand Instance Survey

It has now been a year since Lippincott was introduced in the South Island, four years in Midland and for Wairarapa and Whanganui DHBs, together with a growing number of community organisations, it is just a matter of months.

We wanted to know what the impact of Lippincott has been and felt that users of Lippincott, were best placed to tell us this.

We therefore recently invited users of Lippincott New Zealand Instance to provide feedback on their experience of using Lippincott. The survey included all 12 regions who currently have access to it and was undertaken in June 2016.

Read about the results of the survey.

 

Lippincott Poster Presentation at APAC Forum 2016

The poster below, on the implementation of the New Zealand Instance of Lippincott was recently entered at the APAC Forum 2016 held in September in Sydney. To view poster in new page click here.


 

What are Lippincott Procedures?

Lippincott Procedures are a point-of-care procedure guide to help clinicians save time and provide safer and more effective care. 
They provide real-time access to step-by-step guides for over 1,600 evidence-based procedures and skills in a variety of specialty settings: 
 
  • Required equipment
  • Quick lists to follow
  • Patient instructions
  • Complications to consider
  • Skills checklist
  • Competency tests
  • Hundreds of video clips, diagrams and full-color images

 

Want Lippincott on the run? Download the app now

Instructions for downloading the Lippincott app to both iPhone and Android devices is available here.

 

Read our latest newsletter to find out what's been happening with the introduction of Lippincott New Zealand Instance.

Read earlier versions here:

Newsletter 3

Newsletter 2

Newsletter 1

 

What Lippincott procedures are accessed most frequently?

Click here to view

 

Lippincott Policy

The South Island Executive Directors of Nursing have approved a South Island policy for the Management of Lippincott. To view this policy click here.

 

New Zealand Usage data

Lippincott provides monthly usage reports by District Health Boards (DHBs) or organisation.  Usage of Lippincott New Zealand Instance continues to grow with over 60 different organisations (including 12 DHBs) able to access it.  ?There have been 409,884 hits on Lippincott New Zealand Instance since it started in April 2015.? 

See latest data below:

Lippincott New Zealand Usage Data November 2016 - February 2017

 

Lippincott Toolkit

We have developed a Lippincott Toolkit to assist organisations who have recently joined up with Lippincott New Zealand Instance.

You can download the toolkit here.

 

Introducing Lippincott Presentation

This is an example of a presentation used to introduce staff to the New Zealand Instance of Lippincott. It covers the rationale for choosing Lippincott; history; aims; ongoing management; implementation; barriers and risks and staff roles.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

 

For further information contact:

South Island Workforce Development Hub (SIWDH)

Kate Rawlings kate.rawlings@siapo.health.nz or Kath Goodyear kathryn.goodyear@siapo.health.nz

Local Links

North Island

Midland Region

Bay of Plenty DHB                Liz Buckley   Liz.Buckley@bopdhb.govt.nz

Lakes DHB                           Nina Dobson   nina.dobson@lakesdhb.govt.nz            

Tairawhiti DHB                      Jane Wilkie    Jane.Wilkie@tdh.org.nz

Taranaki DHB                        Glenda Butturini      Glenda.Butturini@tdhb.org.nz

Waikato DHB                         Cheryl Atherfold    Cheryl.Atherfold@waikatodhb.health.nz

Waikato DHB                         Angela Broring (Librarian & Editor    Angela.Broring@waikatodhb.health.nz

Wairarapa DHB   

Librarian                              Maryann Cowgill        Maryann.Cowgill@wairarapa.dhb.org.nz

Nurse Educator                     Teresa Fraser            Teresa.Fraser@wairarapa.dhb.org.nz

Whanganui DHB

Nurse Educator                 Margaret Gosnell   Margaret.Gosnell@wdhb.org.nz

Hawkes Bay DHB             

Librarian                               Viv Kerr  viv.kerr@hawkesbaydhb.govt.nz

 

South Island

Nelson Marlborough DHB    Jen Hassloch     Jennifer.Hassloch@nmdhb.govt.nz

West Coast DHB                   Kas Beaufill     kas.beaufill@westcoastdhb.health.nz

Canterbury DHB                   Robyn Cumings      Robyn.Cumings@cdhb.health.nz

South Canterbury DHB         Barbara Gilchrist     bgilchrist@scdhb.health.nz

Southern DHB                       Mel Rackham (Dunedin)     Mel.Rackham@southerndhb.govt.nz

                                             Julie Symons (Invercargill) julie.symons@southerndhb.govt.nz

Tertiary Institutions                Alex McAllum alex.mcallum@ara.ac.nz