Lippincott Procedures

Video case study, New Zealand Instance of Lippincott Procedures

Global information company Wolters Kluwer recently visited the South Island to produce this video case study of the New Zealand Instance of Lippincott Procedures, an online, evidence based resource that provides real-time access to step-by-step guides for over 1,700 evidence-based procedures and skills in a variety of specialty settings.

The New Zealand Instance of Lippincott Procedures was implemented in partnership between the South Island Alliance and Midland region. There are now 16 DHBs throughout New Zealand using the resource. From the South Island, Kate Rawlings, Programme Director, South Island Workforce Development Hub; Neil Hellewell, Nurse Educator, Canterbury DHB; and Ella Bonnington, Student Nurse, Ara Institute of Canterbury, are all featured in the video. Watch the video below:

Read our latest newsletter to find out what’s been happening with the Lippincott New Zealand Instance.

Want Lippincott on the run? Download the app

Instructions for downloading the Lippincott app to both iPhone and Android devices is available here.

To watch a video on this check out the Lippincott Procedures homepage.

Please note that in order to access the app off-line, the user must select the ‘Keep me logged in’ option when logged into the app.

Trigger Review Feedback Form

We realise that while Lippincott is evidence based and reviewed yearly there may be times when a procedure may require further consideration within the New Zealand context. If there is something on Lippincott NZ Instance that you would like to request a review of, or provide other feedback on, you are able to complete a Trigger review feedback form. This form allows you to identify the change you request that ensures patient safety/risk is managed or state the rationale for creating a new procedure (in a national context):

Please note that as Lippincott is evidence based you will be required to provide evidence to support your request. When completed, the form should be sent to your DHB/Organisation contact. If you are unsure who that person is, see the list of contacts at the bottom of this page.

Download a Trigger Review Feedback Form

Lippincott Clinical Expert Groups

When procedures are reviewed for the New Zealand context we utilise the skills and expertise of our Clinical Expert Groups.  Not all of these groups are currently active but we do have contacts from across the areas that use the New Zealand Instance. The two groups with an asterisk (*) are planned but membership is not yet confirmed.  If you would like to know more about these please contact us at lippincott@siapo.health.nz

  • Blood
  • Diabetes
  • ENT
  • Infection Prevention & Control
  • IV
  • Long term care*
  • Maternity
  • Neonatal
  • Oncology
  • Paediatrics
  • Pain management
  • Palliative Care
  • Mental Health
  • Renal Dialysis*
  • Respiratory
  • Resus
  • Theatre
  • Urology
  • Wound Care

Lippincott New Zealand Instance Survey

As a way of evaluating the impact of Lippincott New Zealand Instance a survey was undertaken in 2016 involving all participating organisations. These online clinical procedures have now been available in New Zealand for over 8 years and with the increased number of users it was timely to again ask users about their experiences with Lippincott. In September 2020 it was agreed to redo the initial survey with the addition of two questions in relation to the recent COVID-19 pandemic.

Four hundred and seventy eight participants completed the survey and a report of the responses provides an overview of feedback on both a regional1 and a national basis, noting that Lippincott is available across the health sector (hospitals, community, primary care, NGOs and aged residential care facilities) in those DHB regions. This also includes the tertiary education providers who have an undergraduate nursing programme.
Read what users had to say here.

Lippincott Poster Presentation at APAC Forum 2016

The poster below, on the implementation of the New Zealand Instance of Lippincott was recently entered at the APAC Forum 2016 held in September in Sydney. To view poster in new page click here.

What are Lippincott Procedures?

Lippincott Procedures are a point-of-care procedure guide to help clinicians save time and provide safer and more effective care.

They provide real-time access to step-by-step guides for over 1,600 evidence-based procedures and skills in a variety of specialty settings:

  • Required equipment
  • Quick lists to follow
  • Patient instructions
  • Complications to consider
  • Skills checklist
  • Competency tests
  • Hundreds of video clips, diagrams and full-color images

Read our latest newsletter to find out what’s been happening with the Lippincott New Zealand Instance.

Read earlier versions here:

New Zealand Usage data

New Zealand Usage data

Lippincott provides monthly usage reports by District Health Boards (DHBs) or organisation.  Usage of Lippincott New Zealand Instance continues to grow with over 70 different organisations (including 16 DHBs) able to access it. There have been 249,074 hits on Lippincott New Zealand Instance in the past twelve months.

See latest data below:
Lippincott New Zealand Usage Data November 2019 – October 2020


Lippincott Toolkit

We have developed a Lippincott Toolkit to assist organisations who have recently joined up with Lippincott New Zealand Instance.

Download the toolkit here.

Frequently Asked Questions

Further information:
Contact Kate Rawlings kate.rawlings@siapo.health.nz
South Island Workforce Development Hub (SIWDH)

 

Local Links

North Island

Midland Region

Bay of Plenty DHB – Liz Buckley  Liz.Buckley@bopdhb.govt.nz

Lakes DHB –  Nina Dobson  nina.dobson@lakesdhb.govt.nz

Tairawhiti DHB – Jane Wilkie  Jane.Wilkie@tdh.org.nz

Taranaki DHB – Glenda Butturini  Glenda.Butturini@tdhb.org.nz

Waikato DHB – Kate Yeo  Katherine.Yeo@waikatodhb.health.nz

Waikato DHB – Angela Broring (Librarian & Editor Angela.Broring@waikatodhb.health.nz

Wairarapa DHB – Librarian Maryann Cowgill Maryann.Cowgill@wairarapa.dhb.org.nz

Nurse Educator – Teresa Fraser Teresa.Fraser@wairarapa.dhb.org.nz

Central Region

Whanganui DHB – Nurse Educator – Margaret Gosnell   Margaret.Gosnell@wdhb.org.nz

Hawkes Bay DHB – Librarian –   Viv Kerr  viv.kerr@hawkesbaydhb.govt.nz

MidCentral DHB – Nurse Educator Lead Tim.Richards@midcentraldhb.govt.nz

Capital & Coast –  Associate Director of Nursing – Practice Development Helen.Costello@ccdhb.org.nz

Hutt Valley – Clinical Nurse Manager Education angeline.upchurch@huttvalleydhb.org.nz

South Island

Nelson Marlborough DHB – Jodi Miller Jodi.Miller@nmdhb.govt.nz

West Coast DHB – Kas Beaufill kas.beaufill@westcoastdhb.health.nz

Canterbury DHB – Robyn Cumings Robyn.Cumings@cdhb.health.nz

South Canterbury DHB – Fiona Gale fgale@scdhb.health.nz

Southern DHB – Mel Rackham (Dunedin) Mel.Rackham@southerndhb.govt.nz

Julie Symons (Invercargill) julie.symons@southerndhb.govt.nz

Tertiary Institutions – Alex McAllum alex.mcallum@ara.ac.nz

News